Alla francesca - Discantus - Brigitte Lesne

Music in the time of Saint Louis

At the end of the year Saint Louis (2014), a concert at the Poissy theater celebrated the 25th anniversary of the three ensembles (about twenty artists on stage) gathered for the occasion.

This program, set in space, offers all the diversity of the vocal and instrumental colors, sacred, secular or popular, of Paris of the 13th century. During the reign of Louis IX the city indeed confirms its place as a true European cultural capital around the construction of Notre-Dame Cathedral, begun at the end of the previous century and still under construction, and the influence of its University, under the impulse of Robert de Sorbon.
The great musical forms of the time are represented, circulating between the spaces of the church, the palace, or in the street: motets, organums, songs, rondeaux, conduits, estampies and royal dances.
The solo voices and the vocal ensemble are in the company of the "low" instruments (soft): fiddles, recorders, lutes, harp, bells, horn, chalemie; or "high" instruments (strong): bombarde, trumpets, chalemies, percussion, bagpipes ...

The Alla francesca Discantus and Alta ensembles have each started in the second half of 1989. Some concerts in the early 90's preceded the first recordings of Opus 111: Landini (Alla francesca, 1992), Codex Las Huelgas (Discantus, 1993), Johannes Ciconia (Alla francesca & Alta, 1993), all awarded by the press.

Direction and conception: Brigitte Lesne, Pierre Boragno, Pierre Hamon
Staging: Alain Carré

Alla francesca - Discantus - Brigitte Lesne

Musiques au temps de saint Louis

En clôture de l'année saint Louis (2014), un concert au théâtre de Poissy qui célébrera aussi le 25e anniversaire des trois ensembles (une vingtaine d'artistes sur scène) réunis pour l'occasion.

Ce programme, mis en espace, offre toute la diversité des couleurs vocales et instrumentales, sacrées, savantes ou populaires, du Paris du 13e siècle. Durant le règne de Louis IX la ville confirme en effet sa place de véritable capitale culturelle européenne autour du chantier de la cathédrale Notre-Dame, commencée à la fin du siècle précédent et toujours en travaux, et du rayonnement de son Université, sous l’impulsion de Robert de Sorbon.
Les grandes formes musicales de l’époque sont représentées, circulant entre les espaces de l’église, du palais, ou dans la rue : motets, organums, chansons, rondeaux, conduits, estampies et danses royales.
Les voix solistes et l’ensemble vocal y sont en compagnie des “bas” instruments (doux) : vièles à archet, flûtes, luths, harpe, carillon, cornet, douçaine ; ou des “hauts” instruments (forts) : bombarde, trompettes, chalemies, percussions, cornemuses...

Les ensembles Alla francesca Discantus Alta ont chacun fait leurs premières armes dans la deuxième moitié de l'année 1989. Quelques concerts au début des années 90 précédèrent la parution des premiers enregistrements chez Opus 111 : Landini (Alla francesca, 1992), Codex Las Huelgas (Discantus, 1993), Johannes Ciconia (Alla francesca & Alta, 1993), tous primés par la presse.

Direction et conception : Brigitte Lesne, Pierre Boragno, Pierre Hamon
Mise en espace : Alain Carré